Information For Athletic Trainers
New Jersey Athletic Training Paperwork
How do I apply to become a licensed athletic trainer in New Jersey?
You will need to complete the application along with the submission of:
- A nonrefundable application fee of $100.00 and the licensure fee. The fee for initial licensure is $80.00 if paid during the first year of a biennial renewal period (odd years) or $40.00 if paid during the second year of a biennial renewal period (even years).
- A clear, full-face passport-style photograph of your head and shoulders attached to the front page of the application.
- A resume that describes in detail your full employment history.
- A notarized copy of the Athletic Training Education Program certificate issued by your college/university that verifies your completion of the curriculum approved by either the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Educational Programs or the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education as per N.J.S.A. 45:9-37.42.
- You will need to have your college/university provide an official transcript in a sealed envelope forwarded directly to the Committee’s office.
- If you are licensed in other states, you will need for the board in each state where you are or have been licensed to fill out a Verification of State License form, stamp it with the board’s official seal and mail it directly to the: State Board of Medical Examiners, Athletic Training Advisory Committee, P.O. Box 183, Trenton, New Jersey 06625. Please contact each state office to find out about the necessary processing fees for verification before mailing out your verification forms.
- If you have been employed as an athletic trainer, you will need for each employer to complete a Verification of Professional Employment form.
- You will also need to be fingerprinted as part of the licensing process. Here is the finger print information on the NJ State Educators Web Site.
If you are planning to work in the Public High School setting, you must obtain a certificate from the Department of Education.
Click here for instructions on how to obtain a NJ Department of Education School Athletic Trainer Certificate
New York Athletic Training Paperwork
How do I apply to become a licensed athletic trainer in New York?
To be licensed as a certified athletic trainer in New York State you must:
- be at least 21 years of age;
- meet education requirements; and
- meet examination requirements.
The application for NY Athletic Training license can be found here
You must file an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.
The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 162, section 8355 of New York’s Education Law and section 52.27 and subpart 79-7 of the Commissioner’s Regulations.
You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.
- The fee for licensure is $158.
- Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.
- Do not send cash.
- Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your canceled check is your receipt.
Mail your application and fee to:
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
PO Box 22063
Albany, NY 12201